« Back to Engines and Rolling Stock Topics

Sign In above to begin adding replies.

Battery Explosions

bruce morgans

Topics: 6

Replies: 18

Posted: Mon 19th May 2014, 9:00pm
Battery Explosions

Hi Does anyone have any experience/knowledge of battery explosions due to either overload/short circuits or over charging when connected in parallel with a motor generator/alternator and if so what advice can they offer to prevent such an occurrence.

Regards Bruce

Replies To This Post

Xz

Topics: 17

Replies: 244

Posted: Sat 24th May 2014, 9:22am

I have no experience of battery explosions, but I do know it's never a good idea to charge two batteries in parallel, as even identical makes will have minorly differing internal resistances and the weaker one will overcharge and the higher one not enough. This has been dealt with properly by the caravan people.

ivanhewlett

Topics: 8

Replies: 53

Posted: Tue 27th May 2014, 11:47am

Hi Bruce

First of all I would say that I totally understand your concerns, a battery, particularly of the size we use, is a dense store of energy and it must be treated with respect, however....
Modern batteries are very safe, I have a story I can tell you if we meet of a recent event that proves this.
I am afraid that in this case, I do have to disagree with Xz regarding paralleling of batteries, from practical experience with my 5 year old 24 volt P/E. I have 4 batteries in series parallel combination connected to a 24 volt alternator without any problems.
The heavy cables from each battery pair (I use jump leads) are taken directly through 60 Amp mains rated MCB's for short circuit protection. I also leave the batteries paralleled at all times (except when in my trailer) and also leave a 5 Amp mobility charger connected to them when not in use.
The batteries are leisure types and were all bought new at exactly the same time and are still working well at present.
I am happy to provide more info. if you wish ?