« Back to Track, Signals and Infrastructure Topics

Sign In above to begin adding replies.

Regulations for Passenger Carrying 7.25" railways

jeggray

Topics: 2

Replies: 8

Posted: Sat 30th Jan 2016, 9:39am
Regulations for Passenger Carrying 7.25" railways

I am new to the Society. I want to build 300m of 7.25" in my garden. IS HSG 216 not applicable any more? If not, what has replaced it?

Replies To This Post

Xz

Topics: 17

Replies: 244

Posted: Sat 30th Jan 2016, 12:17pm

Welcome Jeggray. HSG216 is all we have; it has not been updated, or superseded, as far as I know, for many years. The story behind that is complicated. If you can obtain a copy I would work to it as best you are able.

In your own garden you may more or less do what you please if you are not carrying members of the public or charging for rides.

Bob Gray

jeggray

Posted: Sat 30th Jan 2016, 1:00pm

Thanks Bob. Jeg replying: I will want to have 'Open Days' where I can be raising money for local charities. Sort of Train rides and a cream tea, so there hopefully will be occasions when the public is on the railway and other parts of my garden. I am looking for specific advice on, for example, how close I can lay track to a wall, what width and height measurements are required for a tunnel and bridges, what width of not yet built stone shed will I need to lay three roads with a turntable outside, also how far apart tracks have to be to permit passing trains. I will see if I can get a copy of HSG216 from the internet; what I have glanced at wasn't as specific as I wanted. Thanks again for your reply.

Xz

Topics: 17

Replies: 244

Posted: Sat 30th Jan 2016, 2:12pm

Jeg, perhaps a chat with Arnold Gorse over at Stavely-in-Cartmel might be helpful. He does similar things with his railway there.

Best of luck with it all.

jeggray

Posted: Sat 30th Jan 2016, 2:56pm